Rotherham Commissioners named

The Communities Secretary has named the Commissioners who will take over the running of Rotherham Council.

In a written statement laid before the House today (25 February), Eric Pickles said there would be five commissioners:

• Sir Derek Myers – lead commissioner

• Stella Manzie CBE – managing director commissioner

• Malcolm Newsam – children’s social care commissioner (already in place)

• Julie Kenny CBE – supporting commissioner

• Mary Ney – supporting commissioner

Intervention will be in place until 31 March 2019, but he expects a phased roll back of powers to Rotherham Council.

He also confirmed there would be all out elections in 2016 and that he would make £250,000 available over the next two financial years for a Risky Business-style service to be established, to support victims of child sexual exploitation.

John Healey, MP for Wentworth & Dearne, said: “I welcome the appointment of all four new commissioners.

“Together they bring a depth and range of expertise, and importantly a knowledge of our town.

“I will do all I can to work with them and local political leaders to help the council deal with the problems set out in the Jay and Casey reports.”

Mr Healey has written to Eric Pickles welcoming the appointments, to press that information about the Commissioners’ work and progress be made public, and to establish the arrangements for local scrutiny and accountability of the Commissioners.