The Wentworth and Dearne constituency includes:

Ravenfield, Rawmarsh, Kilnhurst, Swinton, Wath, West Melton, Brampton, Harley, Wentworth, Bolton-on-Dearne, Goldthorpe, Thurnscoe and parts of Bramley, Wickersley and Thrybergh.

It is divided into eight Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council and Barnsley Metropolitan Council wards, each with three elected local councillors:

  • Dearne North
  • Dearne South
  • Hoober
  • Rawmarsh
  • Silverwood
  • Swinton
  • Wath
  • Wickersley

Traditionally, Wentworth and Dearne has been a highly industrialised area, with large coal, steel and manufacturing sectors.

The local economy is now experiencing a transition into new technology and specialist engineering sectors, founded on the expansion of high-quality academic and professional education services.